J. K. Rowling : The Casual Vacancy

 

Since I’m a Potter-head, it was obvious for me, that I read the new Rowling book. I knew this book is for adults, so I didn’t expect any HP effect, and I did it really, really well, because it hasn’t any.


When I read the first 40-50 pages I couldn’t decide whether if I like it or not, but I kept reading, because the first pages of the Harry Potter and the  Philosopher’s Stone weren’t the most exciting either.
So the first half of the book is about to get know the people in Pagford and their reaction of an inhabitor’s death. Some of them want to use it for getting more advanced in the town, some people simply just want to get his seat at the city council. Their reactions were so interesting for me. The reader can have a look behind the narrowed curtains, and he / she can see the problems in each family, because yes! everybody has family secrets, and of course they act normal in public like they would have the perfect small-town live. The exciting part starts, when a nameless writer reveal some private stuffs in the webpage of the town in the name of Barry, the dead guy.  After this point of the book I just couldn’t stop reading it, however I should have study for my finals… (It’s going to be on the 10th of June – fingers crossed!!! ) The last pages are soooooo eventful..!!

To be honest when I was at around the 150th page I thought some Rowling – turning will be at the end of the book, like in Harry Potter – there wasn’t , but that didn’t bother me at all. The end of the book was striking for me, I had expected something else, but it was very touching.

There’s only one thing I don’t like or understand in the book and it is the cover. I just can’t imagine that someone payed for this design ! I understand the concept, but please… It’s not so demonstrative, persuasive or awareness for me at all.  One more negative thing… I think some sentence were constrained – they could have been canceled. I felt Rowling wrote them just to make the reader sure it’s not a child-book, but I think the subject of the whole book shows it, so they were unnecessary for me. Maybe it was only because of the translation, which was pretty awesome in my view!

So for the book I would give 8 points out of 10, for the cover I would give 4…

Hugs, E.

3 thoughts on “J. K. Rowling : The Casual Vacancy

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on The Casual Vacancy | Reading the 1001

  2. Pingback: The Casual Vacancy | Amy's Fantastical Writings and Travels

  3. Pingback: We’re a long way from Hogwarts now | A Pertinent Riot

Leave a comment